i Cryptic Crossword 1405 Raich

August 11, 2015

An enjoyable, pretty straightforward puzzle from Raich, with a little theme going on, for those who spotted it, of pairs. Pair of 1ac, 30ac, etc. Not that I did notice.

Many good clues, but I’m nominating 16ac as my COD – ‘Very French move with sex in mind giving offence (8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/28/independent-7473-by-raich/

10 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1405 Raich”

  1. Bracoman said

    Quick solve for me, though as usual I missed the theme. I believe Paul’s first clue in his first published crossword was knickers, as it is here.

  2. AndyT said

    Done and dusted in jig time today, and just for once I spotted the theme. Rather nifty, I thought: symmetrical with a Nina in the middle. Prior to following this blog the chances of me picking up on it would have been nil – they still pass me by more often than not but I’m improving a little.

  3. dtw42 said

    Yup, nice and quick for me too. I saw the mini-theme, but not the central nina.

  4. phil said

    Very enjoyable but I don’t get 24 across. How are shoes protective linings

    • jonofwales said

      Well, they protect your feet. 🙂 It’s a tad cryptic, but gettable.

      • AndyT said

        Oh, I thought it was referring to brake shoes, because the lining bit didn’t make sense to me otherwise. But then, overthinking it even more, the shoes actually protect the brake linings … 😉

      • jonofwales said

        My knowledge of car mechanics doesn’t extend much beyond checking the oil and tyre pressures, so you could well be right. 🙂

  5. phil said

    Nah not convinced by brake lining. The lining is part of the shoe, it’s not there to protect it. If covering had been used instead of lining it would have an excellent clue in my opinion. 🙂

Comments are closed.

