i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1397 by Phi

August 8, 2015

Saturday 1st August 2015

Original blog here :
http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/03/independent-7452phi/

About two and a half years ago, when the i cost 20p and I’d only just discovered idothei, Phi had a puzzle with ‘Insect repellent’ in column 8 and two insects ‘honey bee’ and ‘ladybird’ filling the unches in columns 1 and 15. That’s still one of my favourite ever Ninas, and last Saturday’s was of a kind, with ‘Play hard to get’ , ‘Equus’ and ‘Yerma’ in similar positions. Not that Yerma is anything but instantly accessible (I was in it in my student days) but the gag still works. Did I spot the Nina? Of course not!
I found the anagrams quite tricky, but otherwise this wasn’t too hard, and fine clueing as ever,
COD 13d: Tory in coma after surgery – this? (10)

Comments are closed.

