i Cryptic Crossword 1401 Eimi

August 6, 2015

It’s Eimi, so you know it’s going to be a good one, with quite a few innovative clues. I spotted the Nina early enough that I had a fair idea what the letters in the perimeter might be, which always helps, but total time was still about par for the i, as 5d and 27ac held out for an age.

COD? The aforementioned 27ac – ‘Pale colour that a hunger striker might have? (7)’.

For more discussion about the crossword, and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/You_Can%27t_Hide_Your_Love_Forever :

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/20/independent-7466-by-eimi/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1401 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Huh. So that’s another Nina which went unnoticed, then. An enjoyable puzzle nonetheless, but today I’d particularly like to thank Cornick for the excellent crossword he posted yesterday, which kept me thoroughly entertained. And yes, I did cotton on to the theme, in the end.

    • Cornick said

      Cheers Andy T. I was trying to get Dac-like surfaces but also hide a theme in there. It’s a surprisingly compulsive pastime – didn’t you say you’d tried it once? Big Dave’s site offers a nice platform for any amateurs who fancy a go…

      • AndyT said

        Those coherent surface readings were much appreciated, tortuous clues being one of my bugbears, and I was thoroughly tickled with the non-existent 15d: bravo! Also, my feeble knowledge of modern cricket didn’t leave me stumped. Ahem.

        I’m certainly tempted to have another crack at it …

  2. Bracoman said

    I missed the theme as well, never having heard of the band. Also never heard of cat flu. “Oatmeal” was good.

  3. dtw42 said

    Me too! (Or, me three!)

Comments are closed.

