i Cryptic Crossword 1399 Tees

August 4, 2015

Progressive rock, eh? The only prog rock I was ever into was Marillion, and they don’t appear, though I did try and force them into 2d for an age. 🙂 The penny dropped after Emerson and Lake appeared, at which point 4d could be little else. A quick Google search confirmed loads of others, some of which I’d heard of. King Crimson, Genesis, Gong, Yes, Camel, amongst others no doubt.

Challenging, with loads of questions at the end, but solvable with a bit of patience.

COD? 28d – ‘Peak reached by training in Sam’s chopper (4)’.

Lots more here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/14/independent-7461tees/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1399 Tees”

  1. AndyT said

    Frankly I found this irritating from start to finish, and now I’m annoyed with myself for missing the theme as usual. Looking forward to something a little more conventional tomorrow, fingers crossed.

  2. dtw42 said

    What Andy T said.

  3. Cornick said

    Well it’s a ghost theme, and a lot of bands from that era had very ordinary names like Bread or Cream which makes them easy to conceal. I don’t think anything here screamed prog rock until you looked at the whole puzzle after it was completed, and even then only if it occurred to you to bother looking!
    Ingenious setting with hindsight, but too much trickery combined with obscure language (soba?) for me. And I will never grow to love ‘happy’ as an anagram indicator!

    • jonofwales said

      Perhaps it’s just my age, but as soon I saw two thirds of Emerson, Lake and Palmer, and Yes, I smelt a rat. 🙂 I suspect the puzzle would have taken me twice as long otherwise…

      • Cornick said

        Well done JoW! Now I come to think about it, ghost themes very often have the cental light – like Yes here – as part of the theme, so maybe I should have too… my era too!

Comments are closed.

