i Cryptic Crossword 1396 by Scorpion

July 31, 2015

Weirdly, this seemed near-impossible at first, but got easier and easier. Ultimately a very satisfying solve from a setter I used to fear – but perhaps not quite so much after today. 🙂 Fortunately I taught Ancient Greece as a topic during my primary school teaching days, but in any case the 8 gods here, whether Greek or Roman, are amongst the best known, so perfectly accessible for anyone prepared to enter battle with the intricate clueing.

COD 26a: Leading letter to editor railing about disease sewage’s created (9)

In which the definition is, unusually, neither at one end nor the other.

2010 blog can be found here.

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1396 by Scorpion”

  1. AndyT said

    I very much enjoyed this puzzle too, and wouldn’t like to pick a COD from so many strong contenders. Agreed, this seemed more accessible than I’ve come to expect from Scorpion.

  2. Lozzie said

    My feelings exactly: very difficult start, then becoming much easier as the theme was recognised. My COD was 12A, although seen very recently elsewhere.

  3. Cornick said

    Yup, the whole idea of just one COD is not to be taken too seriously, really, but it does provide an opportunity to celebrate some terrific ideas from our setters. I liked 12a too!

Comments are closed.

