i Cryptic Crossword 1393 by Radian

July 28, 2015

Tuesday’s are often a themed crossword from the masterful Virgilius, and Radian’s puzzle here, themed around One across, was every bit as good, I thought.

Here were 11 of those iconic words we’ve all heard, probably many times, in the soothing tones of a Radio 4 voice – it was just calling them to mind that was problematic!

COD 13a One whale capsized saintly victim nearly (8)

2010 blog here.

By the way, this was very definitely a theme, whereas the David Mitchell themed crossword I blogged on Saturday was, if I’m right, what’s called a ‘ghost theme’ because you wouldn’t necessarily spot it, or need to in order to finish.  A Nina is more of a private joke – using unches or whatever – with a hidden phrase or message.

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1393 by Radian”

  1. AndyT said

    A first class puzzle I thought, with oodles of ingenuity and wit, and no obscurity merely for the sake of it. Everything that last Tuesday’s was not, in fact. 16d was so, ahem, cheeky that I happily set aside my prejudice against non-UK slang. 🙂

  2. carl twobob said

    Taken me approx 5 hrs to finish this. the annoying thing about cryptic crosswords, for me, is the assumption that solvers are all classically educated radio four listeners.

    Still don’t understand your COD or some of the other clues. But I’m off to follow your link as usual to fill in my gaps. Would comment more often but I’m usually a day behind. Your blog is much appreciated tho.

    • Cornick said

      Welcome aboard carl twobob. Five hours solving sounds like excellent value for 40p 🙂
      I know what you mean about the classical stuff – I often get unstuck with Latin phrases, which are no doubt meat & drink to some solvers, I expect.
      The balance between ‘high brow’ and ‘low brow’ is hard to achieve, but the i gets it about right for my taste – and I hope those Latin scholars like the footie themes as much as I do!
      Oh, and with my COD, orc is a kind of whale, backwards it’s CRO, saintly victim nearly is MARTY(r); put it on the end for a sea area. I chose it for the surface reading, which seemed to point to Jonah & the whale.

      • carl twobob said

        And as if to prove a point today DAC delivers a puzzle I can polish off in under an hour with references to popular culture and slang my dad still uses. Rough with the smooth.

Comments are closed.

