i Cryptic Crossword 1389 Tyrus

July 23, 2015

My last i before I disappear on holiday for a week and leave you in Cornick’s capable hands proved to be a bit of a challenge, as expected from an old prize puzzle. A few very long clues that took a while to fall meant it was a bitty solve, but always an interesting one. The 2010 World Cup feels like a lifetime ago, and I’d completely forgotten about https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_the_Octopus, so the definition for 11ac completely bemused me. A first guess at OFF THE BALL for 1ac also messed up the top half for an age.

COD? 19ac – ‘Spending time in rehab? (6,7)’.

Here’s the old prize puzzle blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/25/independent-7465-by-tyrus-saturday-prize-puzzle-18-september-2010/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1389 Tyrus”

  1. AndyT said

    I was still bemused when I finally stumbled across the finish line, but now you come to mention it that does ring a faint bell. A bit of a slog today.

    Enjoy your holiday, Jon of Wales. πŸ™‚

  2. Cornick said

    Ditto re the holiday – and if the others are like that while you’re away, people might be getting the blog a bit late in the day, cos I found this slow going!
    Always fair though and ultimately a very satisfying solve. Agree re COD πŸ™‚

    • jonofwales said

      Cheers! I’m hoping for some easier ones to solve while I’m enjoying a pint somewhere. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

