i Cryptic Crossword 1388 Phi

July 22, 2015

Perhaps it was just the shock of not seeing Dac in his usual Wednesday slot, but I found this a little more difficult than par for Phi. I knew 7d, but guess that would have been pretty impossible if you didn’t. I hadn’t, though, heard of either 7ac or 22ac, which slowed me down somewhat.

COD? My first in, 5/19 – ‘Rocky tells a blonde: “It’s an award for boxing” (8,4)’.

Back to September 2010:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/17/independent-7464-by-phi/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1388 Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Phiday already? That confused me too. Altogether an elegantly constructed puzzle today, much more to my taste than yesterday’s.

  2. Cornick said

    No theme, but fully 7 answers were 12 letters long which (because you can’t fit another word into 15 letters) is 7 more than we usually see! Oh, and like Flashling I cheated on 7d,

  3. AndyT said

    Actually, 7d has been bothering me, because I have no idea why it was familiar. Far from feeling pleased with myself I fear the onset of senility, since my brain seems far happier with spitting out unconsidered trifles from the dim and distant like that than remembering why I walked into the room. :-/

  4. Dave Ryan said

    I still haven’t got 7d…

    • jonofwales said

      Hi Dave. If you follow the link above to Fifteensquared, they have the answer there. A tip in case you’re still trying – it’s the latin name for a prayer used in evensong… šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

