i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1379 by Phi

July 18, 2015

Saturday 11th July 2015

Phi on good form last week I thought.  Nice range of seldom used vocabulary to dredge up from the old memory banks whilst anything new, like the Amati violin in 7d, was very clearly clued in the wordplay.

Several clues in my copy of the paper now have ticks alongside them, amongst which was the innovative 22d:

Approach shots of excellence regularly repeated (6)

The 2010 blog is here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1379 by Phi”

  1. jonofwales said

    I’d like to know if there was anybody who’d actually heard of 26ac before. 🙂

    • Cornick said

      What, a gap in the JohnofWales general knowledge! It’s ‘s good to know we’re all human! 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Yep, I came across Charles Kingsley’s novel of the same name as a kid and he cropped up again later in the Anglo Saxon Chronicle when I was studying Old English literature. Thoroughly obscure then, but I’ve a feeling I’ve found him hiding out in a crossword before. Being 15 letters long, he fits in nicely. 😉

    Like Cornick, I was taken with 22d.

Comments are closed.

