i Cryptic Crossword 1383 Morph

July 16, 2015

More than a little tricky today. When my first answer in was 16d I knew this was going to take a while, and I must admit to needing a little help along the way. Very rewarding to finish, though I had loads of questions at the end I needed Fifteensquared to answer.

COD? 5ac – ‘Is out forever after 6 15A (6)’.

Answers, explanations, and much much more here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/30/independent-7475morph/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1383 Morph”

  1. AndyT said

    Much the same here, and although I finished the puzzle unaided it put up a spirited resistance. Must say there were a few inspired clues today: 3d, 7d, 10ac and 18d all provoked audible snorts when the penny dropped. Hard work, but clever stuff. 🙂

  2. Cornick said

    Yup, I always enjoy Morph and here he was both at his best and at his hardest that I can remember. Finished unaided till the cryptic at 18d. Berry, berry good indeed. (Sorry! )

  3. dtw42 said

    Hm. Well, I got to within 5 of the end and then collapsed. The ones I did solve (including all the thematic ones) I solved without too much head-scratching. But the last 5 (including 18dn, which I still don’t understand even after reading the fifteensquared blog) were a frustration.

    • Cornick said

      That was my trickiest too but, if I read it right now, then it refers to the Hydra’s habit of, when you’re trying to decapitate its many heads, growing two heads to refresh every one you cut off.

      • AndyT said

        That’s how I took it too … eventually. The apparent allusion to the first letter of previous answer and the business of an “outlet supplying liquid” (suggesting “hydrant”) were just confusing coincidences, I think.

Comments are closed.

