i Cryptic Crossword 1375 Virgilius

July 7, 2015

Another clever little puzzle from Virgilius, based around 12d. A few odd words (14ac and 13ac for example) helped slow things down at the end, but overall this was as solvable as ever.

COD? 7d – ‘Improper use of premises? (7)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/07/27/independent-7419virgilius/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1375 Virgilius”

  1. Cornick said

    You’ve gorra luv ‘im. 6 Xs, 9 Ys, in case anyone was wondering.
    How could the last comment on 15 squared not like 4d? It was brilliant! However, I mistakenly put in Foxy for 14ac. Dang.

    • jonofwales said

      14ac was one I had to check. The wordplay pointed that direction, but I refused to believe it was a real word until I looked it up. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Thoroughly enjoyable, although 20ac is a lousy little word given that there are respectable alternatives which would have fit the bill. I also thought that a 14ac was rather more, ahem, professional than the clue implies. Otherwise, good stuff. With the number of 21ac in there, I was half expecting to find “Rumsfeld” tucked away somewhere. 😉

  3. Stacey Stevens said

    Why is 20A ‘elmy’? Understand the m for motorway but Ely????

    • jonofwales said

      I haven’t got the clue in front of me, but wasn’t it ‘See’ = ‘Dioceses’. ELY is about the only one that ever appears in crosswords. 🙂

Comments are closed.

