i Cryptic Crossword 1372 Nestor

July 3, 2015

This was solved while standing waiting in the local pharmacy, which seemed to literally keep me on my toes, as I ripped through it in next to no time. A few pop culture references helped – 25ac, 6d – though presumably 18ac isn’t the gentleman associated with this lot https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stock_Aitken_Waterman . As it turns out, the consensus back in the day was that this was on the gentle side for Nestor, so I won’t change my usual solving habits just yet. If the i though could position the crossword so the paper can be easily folded in half please? 😉

COD? Too many good clues to choose from, but I’m nominating 14d, which was also my first in – ‘Time of dreadful shock? (3,4,3)’.

Back to August 2010 for the original blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/07/independent-7423-sat-31-jul-nestor/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1372 Nestor”

  1. AndyT said

    Well done! Solving the crossword whilst standing in a queue is an impressive (not to say quintessentially British) accomplishment. From my armchair this puzzle seemed lightweight but enjoyable; 3d was my favourite.

    And so to one of my bugbears. Many’s the time I’ve composed an irascible letter in my head concerning inconsiderate positioning of the crossword. The correct place for it is in the bottom left quarter of the back page of a broadsheet, grid on top, clues down the side, a bit of space for jotting down grumpy comments about dodgy clues. You can tell I was brought up on the Telegraph, can’t you? Of course this is too much to ask for nowadays, but anywhere except across the fold, please. 🙂

    • Cornick said

      I have a sister who would endorse your every syllable. My personal bugbear is the crossword being surrounded by adverts of solid, dark ink colour and nowhere to scribble.

    • jonofwales said

      Thanks! 🙂

      If you ever come across one of the i crosswords they’ve shrunk to make room for other features, then you may have a new number one bugbear… Dac was the last setter to fall victim to this practice, I believe.

Comments are closed.

