i Cryptic Crossword 1371 Glow-Worm

July 2, 2015

An enjoyable and not too difficult puzzle today, though there were one or two I needed Fifteensquared to clear up.

COD? 17ac – ‘Vocal quartet’s attempt with refrain from… (5)’.

Here’s the old blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/07/26/independent-7418-by-glow-worm/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1371 Glow-Worm”

  1. AndyT said

    After yesterday’s tussle with Quixote, a fairly soft-boiled puzzle was welcome. I struggled for a while to recall 19ac – it’s my age – but otherwise plain sailing.

  2. John said

    I think I can shed some light on 4d: c[and]ied* (“and chopped”): sold must indicate the anagram, I suppose.

    I too was at a loess with 19ac.

    • jonofwales said

      Almost there with 4d. ‘and sold’ indicates the removal of ‘and’ from ‘candied’, which is then ‘chopped’ to give us ICED.

      Welcome to the blog, BTW. 🙂

  3. Loulou said

    First one in was 26d P+ ill =pill which mucked up 26a and 28a as I was convinced pill was correct.
    Would never have got 9a , 11a , 19a or 20d .

    • Cornick said

      Cure was my last one in. Tricky! I think the abbreviation for priest is Pr, but otherwise the ‘taking medicine’ might have meant ill and the ‘medicine’ word could, I suppose have been doing double service. Learning abbreviations takes forever.. there are lists on various crossword websites though.

      • jonofwales said

        Cure was one I got quickly, it’s one I’ve come across several times now in crosswords. Tricky if you didn’t know it, though.

      • AndyT said

        On the first run through I tend to give priests a wide berth when I find them lurking in my crossword. There are many of them and they can be a devious lot. Eli, for instance, has habit of hiding away in all sorts of unlikely places. Cure is an old friend, however.

Comments are closed.

