i Cryptic Crossword 1370 Quixote

July 1, 2015

This was a bit of a struggle, wasn’t it? I got to the very long phrase in the end, helped by guessing ENGLISH for the second word, but it was new to me, and dominated much of the grid. Unusually for Quixote I had lots of question marks by the clues at the end, including 5d which baffled the original bloggers too (though it was cleared up in the comments).

COD? 11ac – ‘Figure of speech that could do poet harm (8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/08/independent-on-sunday-1068-by-quixote-%E2%80%93-1st-august-2010/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1370 Quixote”

  1. Bracoman said

    A quotation I had never heard of and was nowhere near getting. I really dislike such long anagrams which form such a substantial part of the puzzle.

    Well done on you solving it!

  2. AndyT said

    Well, I got there in the end, but it was like pulling teeth today … ordinarily I’m very comfortable with Quixote’s style, but this one was quite a stinker. Sharing Bracoman’s distaste for the over-long anagram, my strategy is to fill in as much of the rest as possible then guess, and it was a long time before the penny dropped. Interesting to read the compiler’s comment at the foot of the Fifteensquared page – seems we’re not alone.

  3. Cornick said

    Obviously vacations start a month earlier at the i than the Indy!

Comments are closed.

