i Cryptic Crossword 1364 Dac

June 24, 2015

Well, I was going great guns on this, and then I reached the NW corner, which took about the same time again. The reasoning behind 4d remained a mystery until I checked Fifteensquared.

COD? 11ac – ‘Revamped soap for ladies, disappointing version of Eldorado? (5,8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/07/14/independent-7408dac/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1364 Dac”

  1. Bracoman said

    For 10ac, I entered SPRITE, which is an anagram of priest and is a spirit in an otherwordly sense.

  2. Loulou said

    Another sprite enterer . Only solved 3d, 11d,25a & 22d despite being stuck on a train going nowhere. I solved the PE crossword in about 30 mins so I’m not completely useless but I don’t seem to be getting very far with the i reprints.

    • dtw42 said

      PE as in Private Eye? Definitely not useless then – I try that about once every six months and usually get about six answers in! 😉

    • jonofwales said

      The i crossword can sometimes be a bit tricky. Stick with it, today was definitely tougher than Wednesdays usually are.

  3. Cornick said

    Lucky on the 50/50 guess for 10ac. All points covered bar 1ac which I still cannot see as a DD, for me it’s a CD, i.e. a backwash comes as the result of a swell.

  4. AndyT said

    Another “sprite” here. I thought this puzzle was rather a curate’s egg, falling short of the usual Wednesday standard in places. 11ac would grace any crossword though.

Comments are closed.

