i Cryptic Crossword 1363 Virgilius

June 23, 2015

It’s…. a theme that even I spotted, Monty Python’s Flying Circus. Though where’s Mr Gilliam? SPAM and PARROT set alarm bells ringing, and when IDLE popped up in the bottom row, the name of the snake in 21d was pretty apparent. No Spanish Inquisition, but as good as ever. Last in 18d/30ac.

COD? 9ac – ‘In football, starting with no weak players (3-4)’.

July 2010 today on Fifteensquared…

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/07/13/independent-7407-by-virgilius/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1363 Virgilius”

  1. dtw42 said

    I failed to notice Cleese; was foolishly looking for him only in the full answers. Gosh, some of the commenters over at fifteensquared were snitty about this, weren’t they?
    My GF explained 30ac to me (rugby was never my strong point) but otherwise finished pretty quickly.

    • jonofwales said

      The Grumpy Brigade were indeed out in force on the other side. 🙂

      • Cornick said

        Well I was Mr Grumpy yesterday, I admit, but Virgilius can do no wrong in my eyes and this one was lots of fun. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Learned solvers, would you believe that I didn’t tumble to the theme until I’d finished, and spotted “Cleese” across the middle? ‘Tis true! Anyway, I very much enjoyed this fairly straightforward but clever puzzle, and think that Virgilius deserves a round of applause. 🙂

Comments are closed.

