i Cryptic Crossword 1360 Raich

June 19, 2015

A nice puzzle to end the week from Raich, with a theme I spotted quickly for once, what with the Fab Four dotted amongst the clues, and 8ac. When LET IT appeared at the top of the grid, and a few checking letters elsewhere, in went BE, HELP, and SHE LOVES YOU without too much thought.

My only real difficulty came on 5d where, as far as I was concerned, even with all the checking letters, the rest really could have gone in any order, so I had to use Google to check.

COD? 22ac – ‘What lady of the night charges salt? (8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/24/independent-7443raich/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1360 Raich”

  1. AndyT said

    Theme?? Oh crikey, yes … completely passed me by as usual. An enjoyable puzzle even without spotting it anyway, and it just so happened that I had the paper resting on a book of Mediterranean recipes … šŸ˜‰

  2. dtw42 said

    What AndyT said! šŸ™‚
    I almost never spot ninas…

  3. Cornick said

    Having done these i crosswords religiously for the last – ooh 3 years, though not as long as JoW, I’d say if it’s got ‘unches’ round the perimeter and it’s a Thursday or Friday, then it’s probably worth keeping a look out for a Nina.

  4. Loulou said

    A three hour train journey on and off yielded only 8 answers and I don’t think infinite time would have yielded any more . Y level , lockstep and tourney totally unknown, Tartrate and sillitoe almost unknown.

Comments are closed.

