i Cryptic Crossword 1353 Morph

June 11, 2015

Well, this was very good indeed. One or two clues that were a bit more topical back in the day, but luckily nothing that hadn’t lingered in the memory. I suspect, though, that Arnold Wesker never has been particularly topical. šŸ™‚

COD? Loads I liked here, but I’m nominating 27ac – ‘Treat a dose of crabs, say? (7)’.

All the answers and more here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/06/14/independent-7382-by-morph/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1353 Morph”

  1. Cornick said

    Morph on sparkling form, wasn’t he? I know 22d was given to us on a plate, but what a brilliant idea! Get’s my clue of the month so far!

  2. dtw42 said

    I started well (in fact that cracking 22dn was my first one in – yes I don’t do them in order but just stare randomly at any old clue) … and then fell apart about halfway through. Finished it in the evening with a LOT of help from my girlfriend – really didn’t understand 16ac, and 6dn was far too complicated. The reference at 14dn had somewhat lost its topicality. Hey ho.

    • jonofwales said

      6d for me was a matter of guessing the answer and working backwards to check it. If you didn’t know it, I guess it was rather convoluted.

      • dtw42 said

        Well quite – once a sufficient number of the acrosses were in, it was possible to see find the definition part from the plausibly-fitting answer word, and then reverse-engineer all the wordplay. Which is what I did too.

Comments are closed.

