i Cryptic Crossword 1348 Quaiteaux

June 5, 2015

I didn’t really have much quality solving time today, so never really got into this, and struggled really throughout. I’d be interested to hear what others thought. Suspect I could have done with the time to sit down properly with it.

COD? The very un-PC 17d – ‘Close shave for pre-operative transsexual? (4,4)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/16/independent-7436-by-quaiteaux/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1348 Quaiteaux”

  1. dtw42 said

    Funny how we can have different experiences of the same puzzles, eh! I found this one tricky in places, but satisfying and in the end doable-before-lunchtime. I liked the charade construction of 14ac; very nice.

  2. Cornick said

    Had you had that quality solving time JoW, I suspect you would have found all clues bar a few on the easy/ medium side by Indy standards; although the NW corner was tricky, I thought.
    I too, dtw42, love those long charades like 14ac, and I also enjoyed the other long one, 4d.

Comments are closed.

