i Cryptic Crossword 1347 Nestor

June 4, 2015

It took a while to find a way into this one, but once I did, it proved easier than it first looked. I’m glad I didn’t have to explain one or two of these, 9d in particular!

COD? 10ac – ‘Exceptional as a hitter, get me! (1,2,3,8)’.

June 2010 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/06/11/independent-7375-sat-05-jun-by-nestor/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1347 Nestor”

  1. Cornick said

    Well I don’t feel quite as thick as I felt after Mordred on Tuesday – this was joyful – but I still can’t understand the parsing of 19ac. Axes are electric guitars, yes, but the rest?

    • jonofwales said

      I just read it as electric guitars need power going in, amps, to work, and amps to plug into for the sound to go out.

      • Cornick said

        Oh, is that all! Yup, I think the 225 blogger was just being whimsical. Thanks! 🙂

  2. dtw42 said

    Hm. I started off filling in a lot of the long phrases which were obvious from the definitions, without worrying about trying to parse the wordplay. Got through most of the rest of it quite smoothly, but must admit I’d never heard of 3dn and don’t understand how 11ac fits the definition. Hey ho.

    • jonofwales said

      I read the definition in 11ac as itched = wanted to, couldn’t wait to = was dying to… Doesn’t quite work for me, but unless anyone has any better suggestions. 🙂

      • Cornick said

        I was okay with died to = itched to.
        I’ve only ever met ‘bin-end’ in off licences, so it’s to your credit dtw42 if you haven’t!

  3. AndyT said

    I enjoyed this witty puzzle a great deal, but 11ac failed to convince. Not to worry though: it’s my favourite of this week’s diverse selection and I look forward to whatever tomorrow brings.

Comments are closed.

