i Cryptic Crossword 1336 Anax

May 22, 2015

After our last Anax, I was more than a little trepidatious today. Thankfully, this was a lot more accessible, though still challenging in places, as you’d expect. Lots of lovely clues, some of which I needed the 2010 blog to explain. 2, 3, 4 and 6d was a quite inspired run of clues.

My only grumble? I’d prefer these old prize puzzles on a Saturday, when I’d have more time to enjoy them. Give Phi his traditional Friday slot. 🙂

COD? The consensus on Fifteensquared seemed to be 3d, but I thought 2d had the edge – ‘Swamp or … (7)’.

All the answers, and explanations of the clues, here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/18/independent-7459-by-anax/

11 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1336 Anax”

  1. Moose said

    At last I’ve finished an Anax.Got some clues without fully understanding them.Fav clue 5d

  2. Cornick said

    Yup, that’s why I love Anax so much!

  3. AndyT said

    A couple of mild harrumphs: 1d is too slangy for my tastes, and I wonder how many younger solvers would be familiar with the person alluded to in 16a. Otherwise entertaining.

  4. Cornick said

    Well the rule of thumb is, I believe, that obscurities are fine, but their wordplay should be correspondingly straightforward, so I would let Anax off this one, given the other definition.

  5. dtw42 said

    As a long-time Countdown viewer I well remember 16ac from his appearances in dictionary corner! I finished with some assistance from my girlfriend on the last two or three, mostly in the SE corner.

    • Cornick said

      Plus at least one article online calls him ‘Britain’s greatest cartoonist’. I found it an irresistible clue for T _ D _.

      • AndyT said

        Oh, I agree that it’s a nice clue – it was only a mild harrumph, after all. I rather think that Mr 16ac has some stiff competition for “Britain’s greatest cartoonist” though: ordinarily that means Gillray or Hogarth, surely? 😉

  6. Cornick said

    Yup, he wouldn’t make my top ten, but I have heard of him… now who’s Gillray?!! 🙂

Comments are closed.

