i Cryptic Crossword 1335 Klingsor

May 21, 2015

This had a lot of praise on Fifteensquared, but I’m not so sure. In places it felt clumsy, and we had two intersecting clues (13d and 26ac) that were pretty difficult, if not unsolvable to a large proportion of solvers. I’m uneasy too about good for g in the middle of the anagram fodder at 5d.

COD? 19d – ‘He left son out of admiral’s speech (7)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/06/independent-7454-by-klingsor/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1335 Klingsor”

  1. Cornick said

    Apart from the last two or three, I thought this was great fun, pitched just right for a Thursday – ah, but those last ones – 1d, 13d and 26a – sent me off to Wordsearch City.

  2. AndyT said

    Hmm, I was pretty happy with this one, but 13d was a matter of knowing the word without understanding the clue, which always makes me feel rather dim.

Comments are closed.

