i Cryptic Crossword 1334 Dac

May 20, 2015

Even by Dac’s high standards, this was very good, with loads of candidates for COD. I took an age to get going, and solved in fits and starts, but at the end my time was about par for a Wednesday, without any questions / unresolved issues.

COD? I’ll go with 1ac, though I could have picked many others – ‘Crosby performing solo was so pathetic (8)’.

September again on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/08/independent-7456dac/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1334 Dac”

  1. Moose said

    1a sums up my attempt.Got about half.Don’t fully understand Monterrey,never heard of 7d.Having seen the answers I should have solved a few more.Still learning!

    • jonofwales said

      Keep at it, I found this a little hard going, you’ll get there! πŸ™‚

      MONTERREY? Capital = currency = MONEY.
      time = T, common abbreviation.
      wander = ERR, as in to err, go astray.

      And Monterrey is a Mexican city.

      7d I did know, but part of the fun of cryptic crosswords is getting answers you didn’t know before, from the wordplay. As your confidence grows, you’ll get better at this.

  2. dtw42 said

    Now, I liked the pace of this one – I was able to finish it all without assistance, but not too quickly – my last ones in were 4dn and 12 and 14ac. Certainly took me a long time to get 1ac – I expect that you were trying to fit “Bing” into it (as I was) for too long. πŸ˜›

    • jonofwales said

      Ah yes, how many times did I go back to try and force Bing in there somewhere… πŸ™‚

  3. AndyT said

    No complaints today: that was an enjoyable puzzle. And yes, Bing was on my mind too for a long time. πŸ™‚

  4. Cornick said

    I like the description of Dac I read somewhere which went something like ‘the best pound for pound setter on the circuit’. Apt today!

Comments are closed.

