i Cryptic Crossword 1327 Virgilius

May 12, 2015

A very welcome return for Virgilius, after too many weeks absent! A very nice theme that probably took a lot of work when constructing the grid, but I only noticed when I reached the SE corner. Wasted on me! 🙂 I presume I wasn’t alone in having the added challenge of the last clue being chopped?

COD? 32ac – ‘Something man can’t get – power on the throne (8)’.

June 2010 today on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/06/29/independent-7395virgilius/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1327 Virgilius”

  1. Cornick said

    Indeed, 29ac missing second line – a synonym for ‘initially’ of some sort, I presume. I guessed the theme about 4 ‘mans’ in, but assumed only one man per row – for which the moral is, never underestimate Virgilius!

  2. dtw42 said

    If you thought one chopped clue was a challenge, wait till you see today’s!

Comments are closed.

