i Cryptic Crossword 1321 Anax?

May 5, 2015

I was going to start the blog by saying that this was a lot more accessible than Anax’s puzzle from last Friday, while still being challenging. According to Fifteensquared, though, this was actually by Scorpion, so I’ll have to qualify that statement. I didn’t spot the theme until I was stuck on 21ac and 22d, which then helped no end. Also didn’t believe that 3d was actually a colour until I checked online. Thought DS for doctor in 6d was a bit obscure, if obvious if you’d got the rest of the clue.

COD? 10ac – ‘Singing siblings – born singing siblings, we hear (8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/01/independent-7417-sat-24-july-scorpion/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1321 Anax?”

  1. dtw42 said

    Blech, didn’t like this one much and had to resort to a lot of cheating via word-finders, just because I knew I wasn’t going to get anywhere otherwise.

  2. Loulou said

    I have spend many an hour racing. I got bath and Pontefract but didn’t spot any theme -mind you if I’d got all the racecourse clues I still wouldn’t;’t have thought twice about it. Only solved a handful -far too hard for me.

  3. Cornick said

    Blimey, Scorpion likes his abbreviations! Quite a few, like PR, G and DS I’d never met before. Rather offputting to use so many, but there were plenty of goodies in here too. I liked 10ac as well, and 13ac for the surface.

Comments are closed.

