i Cryptic Crossword 1318 Anax

May 1, 2015

Nimrod yesterday, and Anax today. The crossword editor has got it in for us. 🙂

TBH, I thought this was far too much for a weekday puzzle. I guessed the theme very quickly, and some of the answers, but didn’t feel confident enough of my interpretation of the wordplay to even enter the ones I knew. So basically, as of now, I haven’t got very far, and don’t expect to have the hours necessary today to do so. Many more like this, and the casual solver is going to give up or go elsewhere… If you do get anywhere, feel free to nominate a COD.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/21/independent-7435-by-anax-saturday-prize-puzzle-140810/

Edited to add:

Well, I did find time to finish in the end, but it took a while, and a couple of cheats.

My COD? 21ac.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1318 Anax”

  1. Cornick said

    This was a very tough weekend puzzle and unquestionably too hard for a weekday. I really must write to the i about their policy!

    • jonofwales said

      We seem to get old prize puzzles fairly regularly on a Friday. Maybe Eimi’s trying to increase the difficulty over the week, rather than giving us a reprint of a Monday puzzle? But the Saturday Indys can be v hard indeed.

  2. Sheila Mitchell said

    Sorry, but these are too hard most of the time. I’m used to the Telegraph and usually finished them without a lot of trouble but am losing the will to carry on with these 😦

    • Cornick said

      Sheila, the reason some of us love the Indy puzzles above others is the level of wit and invention. The downside of that is that they can get really hard and a run of the hardest ones can be really dispiriting. However there’s always the hope – ah, the hope … and I promise you there are sometimes runs of MUCH easier crosswords – honest!

  3. dtw42 said

    I must say this Friday one beat us; we put it aside toward the end of the day, about three-quarters done, because we were getting fed up with the sheer slog of it.

Comments are closed.

