i Cryptic Crossword 1317 Nimrod

April 30, 2015

We haven’t had Nimrod in a long time I believe, and this was really what you expect from him. Lots of obscurities, and some tricky clues. I got there in the end, but this was tough. 16ac should never have got past the editor.

COD? 9d – ‘James Brown just about due a fantastic welcoming – a god of the stage! (4,2,7)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/08/12/independent-7433nimrod/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1317 Nimrod”

  1. Cornick said

    Congratulations for finishing Jonofwales. I was stuck all afternoon wondering what 7d was before eventually giving up and resorting to a wordfinder. Nimrod was brilliant here, I thought – very hard but very enjoyable. Discovered this afternoon that his brother works in my local Builder’s Merchants!

    • jonofwales said

      Thanks! Bit of a coincidence about Nimrod’s brother, lucky you weren’t saying anything rude about his crossword. đŸ™‚

  2. dtw42 said

    I resorted to help too; was okay(ish) with 7dn, but had trouble with 19dn and 23ac.

  3. Cornick said

    Yes, for quite a while I was thinking 67.5 degrees might be the Arctic circle, ENE was nice!

Comments are closed.

