i Cryptic Crossword 1311 by Virgilius

April 23, 2015

With Virgilius moved from his regular slot to 11ac/ 12ac day, a theme was clearly coming – but what we got was far richer than just the obvious.  Six of the across answers in the top half of the grid related to 4d whilst their mirror images in the bottom half of the grid were antonyms and related to 26d.  All completely fitting, of course, for the message of this day. How does he do it?

Failed to parse 29ac and made a wrong guess, but my COD goes to 19d:

Very cool, strangely, about an unsafe mountain? (7)

For 2010 blog click here.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1311 by Virgilius”

  1. Bracoman said

    Very clever construction. As you say, how does he do it? Not just once, but time and time again.

  2. dtw42 said

    Well, I finished this fairly quickly but failed to notice any of that fancy stuff going on. Hey ho.

  3. jonofwales said

    Thanks for covering the past couple of days! I did solve this, but was rushed so didn’t notice everything that was going on. Perhaps I should have saved it for the weekend.

  4. dtw42 said

    Reading these blogs I see in retrospect how clever this grid is. Shame it almost completely passed me by at the time. At least I can count myself amongst the half of solvers who put “Ena” in right, having parsed the clue correctly! 🙂
    (We take our small victories where we can get ’em)

    • Cornick said

      Ha! Well done brave sirrah. Btw, I think the R O P E across the middle was just coincidence, but it certainly got me racking my brains to think if Virgilius might have done something even more remarkable still.

Comments are closed.

