i Cryptic Crossword 1303 Virgilius

April 14, 2015

A 15d of a crossword from Virgilius, showing yet again how it should be done. The combination of 17d and 21ac caused me some problems at the end, but fairly plain sailing until that point.

COD? 10d – ‘Leader of train robbery who believes in higher power? (6)’.

Back to the start of June 2010 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/06/01/independent-7371virgilius/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1303 Virgilius”

  1. emvee said

    Another fantastic puzzle from Virgilius though poor spelling of 3D meant I didn’t get 11A and though I got all of the checking letters couldn’t figure out 7D for the life of me. I think my favourite clue was 1D which kept me stumped for just long enough.

  2. Cornick said

    Another super idea from Virgilius, brilliantly executed. Some say ‘Straight cryptics’ are the hardest clues of all to invent; 7d was a perfect example of how to do ’em, 17d shows how hard they are to do well!

  3. emvee said

    It’s only now, hours after I finished the grid, that I’ve realised the double meaning of “see” for the theme. I knew it was bishopries or dioceses or whatever (thanks Blackadder!) but now I realise it was hidden in plain sight the whole time. Genius, utter genius.

Comments are closed.

