i Cryptic Crossword 1302 Quixote

April 13, 2015

A little chewier than usual for Quixote, but perfectly solvable for all that.

COD? 20ac – ‘Wonderful kindness that characterises Claude or Nora (1,5,2,4)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/06/10/independent-on-sunday-1060-by-quixote-6th-june-2010/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1302 Quixote”

  1. dtw42 said

    Perfectly solvable? Okay, this prompts the discussion of what in today’s era is expected to be common knowledge. I always expect some biblical reference in a Quixote puzzle, and thought it out of the way once I’d solved 10ac. But then I got further and further through the grid without being able to make head or tail of 5dn. The anagram fodder was obvious enough but I couldn’t resolve it into a phrase. In the clue he’s practically admitted it’s obscure. In the end I had to plug it into a word finder and must say I have never heard of the answer it threw back. There were a couple of others I solved without being able to parse the wordplay fully. Hm.

    • jonofwales said

      I’m OK with the biblical references Quixote throws in, so I don’t tend to be phased by them. With these tricky anagrams, though, you can usually get to the answer in the end, with enough checking letters. In this case, AND THE was fairly obvious, and the RAG bit of the last word wasn’t part of the anagram. Difficult if you didn’t know the book, but not unsolvable.

  2. dtw42 said

    Yeah fair enough.
    (*fazed, though, I think! 😉 )

  3. Cornick said

    I don’t really understand why I can’t enjoy Quixote like I do all the others; 20ac was a lovely clue for example.
    My best guesses are 1. Because his puzzles seem to have been compiled in about a tenth of the time that say Anax or Virgilius have given to theirs or 2. Because it’s a Monday so I expect it to be easy and then, like today, it isn’t!

Comments are closed.

