i Cryptic Crossword 1282 Anax

March 20, 2015

I’m afraid I thought that this was just taking the so and so. Incredibly difficult to get into. There’s a theme, but I suspect most solvers would have given up long before they realised. After two monsters last week, and today’s effort, you sometimes wonder if the crossword editor is trying to drive solvers away to alternative outlets.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/16/independent-7305-by-anax/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1282 Anax”

  1. dtw42 said

    Got a little over halfway through this one on my own, then struggled to the end with by girlfriend’s assistance – spotted the theme about three quarters of the way through and didn’t see the nina at all until following your link to the Fifteensquared blog. Found some of the wordplay impenetrable and – like several of the commenters there – didn’t like GW much in 16dn.

  2. Cornick said

    For some oddity-bobbity reason, amongst those XXXextra hard setters on the Indy payroll, I look forward to Anax’s brand of torture the most. So I kept going and, after SEVERAL re-vists eventually finished and am only kicking myself that I put in FOR ( the wrong answer) at 17ac. So to finish (almost) was a bit of a thrill.
    Even so, I do hope he’s a bit easier next time!

Comments are closed.

