i Cryptic Crossword 1280 Dac

March 18, 2015

It took a while to get started – 21ac was my first answer in – but after that the grid fell rapidly, from the SE corner moving anticlockwise.

Loads of clues I liked, but my COD goes to 4a – ‘Comedian who’s French pin-up, nothing less (8)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/18/independent-7307dac/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1280 Dac”

  1. Ian S said

    1ac is one of those clues that makes me think I’ll never really get into cryptic crosswords.

    I had ‘bounce’ in my head but couldn’t make it work so cast it aside. Too much obscure knowledge seems to be needed in too many clues (you would never see “Feline (5) – OUNCE” in a concise crossword).

    I’ll keep trying but it feels too much like cheating to Google “is an ounce a cat?” and I don’t know enough about everything to be able to answer that myself – so I’m stuck.

    • jonofwales said

      OUNCE is one of those cryptic crossword cliches that becomes a reflex in the end. It’s so convenient, it’s just too tempting for the setter! 🙂

      In this case, even if I wasn’t sure about the wordplay, if I had enough checking letters I’d go for it and check later.

      Stick with it, and you’ll get there. Crossword blogs are a great help.

  2. dtw42 said

    I wonder how many words there are that are made up of a famous person’s initial and surname, like 13ac today. A simple one that I’ve clued in the past (“Big star’s gratitude”) is T.HANKS.
    I seem to remember there was a famous clue somewhat along the lines of “Opposite Cleopatra’s lover’s name in the phone book” for ANTONY, M.
    And there’s got to be something along the lines of “Farewell performance of Sunset Blvd. star, as shown in index” for SWANSON, G.
    …any more, do we think?

Comments are closed.

