i Cryptic Crossword 1279 Virgilius

March 17, 2015

The readily apparent theme caused me to panic at first, as I have a blind spot when it comes to all things Irish, and in particular geographic ones. I’ve also tried twice to read 13ac’s magnum opus before giving up a few hundred pages in. Suffice it to say I was ill prepared to tackle this puzzle. As it turned out, I should have trusted Virgilius, as I got through this in a fairly quick time, only failing on 5d and 8ac.

COD? 27ac – ‘Teenager changing to non-alcoholic drink for today? (5,3)’.

Happy St Patrick’s Day, should you be celebrating. On this day back in 2010…

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/17/independent-7306-by-virgilius/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1279 Virgilius”

  1. Cornick said

    Those were my hardest two as well. Put in Eric as a guess cos of Eric the Red… but an ancient Irish fine!!! And I needed Chambers to track down murphy = potato. Otherwise sheer delight!

  2. dtw42 said

    I knew murphy = potato (it’s why people called Murphy are often nicknamed “Spud”), but I’d never heard of “potation”…

Comments are closed.

