i Cryptic Crossword 1271 by Phi

March 14, 2015

Saturday 7th March 2015

The second pangram on the bounce. Will there be another today, I wonder? Excellent clues as ever from Phi, with a couple of interesting neologisms at 6d and 10d. Apparently ‘Social Anxiety’ and ‘Dracula Sneeze’ were Words of the Year for 2009 in Australia and America respectively. It’s a curiosity that one has, it seems to me, become mainstream whilst the other has almost faded from memory.

COD 1ac: Farewell is characterised by thanks, mostly profuse thanks (5,2,5)

Original blog here : http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/05/07/independent-7350phi/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1271 by Phi”

  1. Cornick said

    Apologies for late post.

  2. jonofwales said

    1ac took me an embarrassingly long time to get. Doing a Dracula Sneeze once caused me a chest injury during a particularly nasty bout of flu, so it’s stuck in my mind somewhat. 🙂

Comments are closed.

