i Cryptic Crossword 1273 Tees

March 10, 2015

Forget challenging, this was completely impenetrable. No definitions in any of the down answers, with no indication that this was the case, and pretty solid wordplay to go with it. For the first time ever I’ve abandoned an i puzzle. Sorry, Tees, but really disliked this.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/04/29/independent-7339-by-tees/

10 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1273 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    You’re not the only one. Eesh. I got that the theme was undefined birds in the downs, but when some of them were sufficiently obscure not to be in Chambers or Bradford’s (or even in ‘Crossword Compiler’ software’s additional “birds” word list!), I think that’s TOO obscure for a daily, especially Tuesday!

    They really shouldn’t be re-using Saturday prize puzzles – not ones of this difficulty at any rate – midweek. I have never seen “undefined” clues in a regular daily crossword before, only in advanced cryptics. Very odd. The i will get letters about that, no doubt!

    • jonofwales said

      It’s the first time I’ve seen it done. I’ve suggested before that reprinting prize puzzles on a weekday isn’t perhaps the best idea, but it’s fallen on deaf ears.

      When an ex Times crossword champion comments to say that “I think I got to the end unaided, but it took a mighty long time, and the difficulty finished up as what I remembered about the puzzle,” then you know that the puzzle’s on the harder side of average. πŸ˜‰

  2. lazoon said

    Bought the i today for the first time to see what the crossword was like…Wish I hadn’t wasted 40p!..I consider myself a reasonable solver but gave up trying to penetrate TEES’s after an hour or so.

    • jonofwales said

      Today’s crossword was far from typical. Try tomorrow’s, we usually get Dac on a Wednesday, who’s invariably excellent.

  3. Sheila Mitchell said

    Frustrating! Wasted time and felt thoroughly fed up with this one. Shame, as I usually enjoy the cryptic crossword.

    • jonofwales said

      Yes, my feelings exactly. Hoping for a better day with the i tomorrow. Welcome to the blog, BTW! πŸ™‚

  4. Cornick said

    Four weekday stinkers on the trot in my book.
    Well, we get clusters of brilliance, so it stands to reason we might get clusters of the other!

  5. Glad I’m not the only one. I don’t feel such a fool after reading these comments!

Comments are closed.

