i Cryptic Crossword 1255 Virgilius

February 17, 2015

I’m glad, looking over on Fifteensquared, to find that I wasn’t the only person not to understand the theme. I guessed 17ac correctly, but couldn’t for the life of me work out why the down answers were symmetrical. Clever once you see how.

Not too difficult overall, though the last 6 clues in took as long as the rest of the grid.

COD? 26d – ‘Become less hostile – so what’s changed? (4)’.

If you’re still stuck, all the answers and discussion here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/30/independent-7317virgilius/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1255 Virgilius”

  1. Bracoman said

    A very clever crossword. A veritable tour de force to construct it

  2. Cornick said

    So struggled to work out what was going on… I shall have to change the way I write my Ys from now on!

  3. BillDo said

    My paper has a misprint for 30 ac. “in camp is” instead of “if” which rather messed up the anagram. Incredible nina, which I only spotted after reading the blog!

  4. Cornick said

    As my mind drifted back to this puzzle, it occurred to me how the Nina relied upon the alternate letters of sYmMeTrIcAl being just that – Wow!

Comments are closed.

