i Cryptic Crossword 1248 Quixote

February 9, 2015

I was going great guns on this until I hit 13ac and the SE corner, which took twice as long as the rest put together! Last in 26ac, after I spent too long trying to look for a word with B at the beginning. I’ve come across the ‘French art’ device so many times now that 25ac was no problem, but this may have held up others.

COD? 2d – ‘Female becomes male if you do this? Matter of recycling! (5,4)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/04/29/independent-on-sunday-1054-by-quixote-25th-april-2010/

One Response to “i Cryptic Crossword 1248 Quixote”

  1. dtw42 said

    Fairly similar story here; very fast top half, very slow bottom half. Thought a couple of definitions down the bottom were a bit wishy-washy. I, too, spent too long trying to put a B on the front of 26ac. Embarrassingly, it was an hour or so after helping my GF hone a clue she was writing for “conundrum”, that I realised what the answer to 14dn was.

Comments are closed.

