i Cryptic Crossword 1244 Phi

February 4, 2015

This was a bit of a rushed solve today, as I was short of time. Fortunately, once the long book titles had fallen into place, the initially slow pace quickly speeded up. I’d never even heard of the trilogy in question before, if you had I suspect this would have been lightening quick.

COD? 14ac – ‘Curious what’s left towards end of break? (7)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/26/independent-7314-by-phi/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1244 Phi”

  1. dtw42 said

    Neither had I; needed Google for this one. And even so, was stuck when I got to 19/11.
    Pff, where are the boundaries for thematic obscurity?

    • Cornick said

      The boundaries for thematic obscurity start for me with Pff! But seriously I detect more than a hint of bias towards the classics and an old school prediliction for opera, cricket and poetry. Nobody balks at Latin phrases, say, but do a theme on David Bowie or Soccer and rest assured the natives will revolt. Evelyn Waugh’s books belong, I suspect, to the body of work that a well-read gentleman /woman should at least know about, even if they haven’t read them. Personally I’d like to see more Geography, Science, Politics, Pop and Foreign Languages but I do still quite enjoy camping on the lawn of the public schoolboys, so to speak.

Comments are closed.

