i Cryptic Crossword 1237 Punk

January 27, 2015

A fairly challenging but fun puzzle from Punk. Slow but steady progress until I spotted the theme, at which point things moved along fairly quickly. Last in 9ac / 2d, 23ac.

COD? 20ac – ‘Guardian’s breaking feature, good, but the wrong issue? (10)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/04/05/independent-7322-by-punk/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1237 Punk”

  1. Cornick said

    Great stuff, With anags at 1d and 4d early on, I had N_ _-_ _ _I for 9ac and so the answer came quickly. That in turn gave 2d which then gave Peter Cushing and the theme. However I was completely stuck on 23ac till coming here. ‘Chest held in this’ and a Punk puzzle? I should have known!

  2. dtw42 said

    I was quite pleased to sail through this one quite quickly in my lunchtime. After getting a couple of the stars, I was actively looking for the others – put in 8dn from the def and word lengths with hardly a glance at the wordplay!
    I think 6dn was my LOI.

Comments are closed.

