i Prize Cryptic 1223 by Radian

January 17, 2015

Saturday 10th January 2015
In which fully 22 of the clues were related to birdlife, mostly as answers, sometimes just in the clues and often both. That in itself is a feat, but the real achievement is that this crossword was so much fun to do. I loved it.
My COD, with a strong challenge from the laugh-out-loud 11ac, goes to 5ac:
Notice now and then what wagtails’ tails do? (6)

Oh, one tiny grumble, 16d: Storyteller raised bar (4) could have been either Rail or Liar; no way of telling!

Original blog here: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/09/independent-7299radian/

One Response to “i Prize Cryptic 1223 by Radian”

  1. jonofwales said

    This was a good one. I groaned when I twigged the theme, as you could probably count the bird names I know on both hands. Radian’s clues guided us gently through, though.

Comments are closed.

