i Cryptic Crossword 1222 Tyrus

January 9, 2015

Another old Independent Saturday Prize Crossword that I must admit wasn’t my cup of tea. I don’t much like very long anagrams, and was somewhat dubious about UN for one in 18d, without any foreign indicator.

Nothing really stood out for me as a COD. Sorry, Tyrus!

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/03/19/independent-7303-sat-13-mar-tyrus/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1222 Tyrus”

  1. Simon H said

    I took the UN to come from the regional “‘un” rather than French, but I could be wrong.

    Seemed to sail through this despite not really understanding quite a few clues.

    • jonofwales said

      I think you’re probably right, a belated glance at the dictionary has ‘un as a contraction of one, never occurred to me..

  2. dtw42 said

    Agreed; solved it okay but some of the clues felt … meh. I’d put 9dn as the COD.
    11ac seemed needlessly complicated, and 22dn felt like it was missing a bit – some method of indicating that “University about” had to come after “finish”.
    23dn WAS missing a bit – in my copy of the paper, at least. Anyone else’s?

  3. Cornick said

    Mine too; presumably ‘of it’ completes 23d. I also groaned at the sight of the long anagram, but actually enjoyed the puzzle as a refreshingly different challenge. Defeated by 21a though.

Comments are closed.

