i Cryptic Crossword 1219 Virgilius

January 6, 2015

I found this a real struggle, with 15ac, after solving, in particular only serving to confuse me, as even though I had 8 and 28, I failed to register the link.

Unusually for Virgilius I was left feeling unhappy with a few. There doesn’t appear to be a definition in 21ac, and I’ve no idea what ‘stomach’ is doing in 4d.

COD? 20d – ‘Suitable boy’s name for new arrival? (6)’.

The original blog, linked here, has omitted 17d: A THE NI AN.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/01/07/independent-7243-by-virgilius/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1219 Virgilius”

  1. Cornick said

    I couldn’t get 21ac at all and had 2d as ‘beater’ because I forgot that current = i. Oops. Re 4d, if you hit someone, like a lass, say, in the stomach, then you wind them.

Comments are closed.

