i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1206 by Phi

December 27, 2014

Apologies for late blog; problems accessing idothei…

Saturday  20th December 2014

Yes, as the original blogger Beermagnet pointed out in 2009, this was a bit easy by the standards of an Indy prize crossword.

But it was pretty hard by the standards of a Phi Prize Crossword in the i.   I needed recourse to my reference books for the two long lights across the middle: ‘Brewers’ gave me ‘The Greek Calendes’ and ‘The Oxford Companion to English Literature ‘ gave me  ‘Peregrine Pickle’ respectively.   I feel like a cultural Philistine.

Also the ‘Veni, vedi, vici’ Nina in the middle unches passed me by completely.   Heigh-ho!

COD?  13ac Belt and socks etc. (7)

Christmas 2009 blog here :  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/12/25/independent-7232-by-phi-sat-19-dec/

Comments are closed.

