i Cryptic Crossword 1198 Bannsider

December 11, 2014

There’s an interesting discussion on the 2010 blog about crossword difficulty, though specifically for a Saturday, when this was first published. This was certainly very difficult, and I failed on one or two at the end. For what it’s worth, I think there is a danger of driving solvers, and newspaper purchasers, away, if the difficulty level is too high. I’m reminded of a friend, who can do the concise in minutes, whose one and only shot at a cryptic was a Thursday Nimrod in the Indie. If it’s too difficult for an ex-Times crossword champion to solve unaided, it’s probably too difficult for a weekday cryptic.

COD? 26ac – ‘Circuits have lines within bounds (7)’.

Answers and analysis here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/01/16/independent-7249-saturday-9-jan-bannsider/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1198 Bannsider”

  1. Cornick said

    So does that mean, as I have long suspected, that on its day the Indy/ i can have the hardest crosswords of any daily? Personally, I gave up half way through!

    • jonofwales said

      I think so, yes. I rarely solve Guardian puzzles, but Indy Thursdays and Saturdays push the average difficulty way above what you get in the Times.

  2. Bracoman said

    I normally finish the crossword but only got 6 clues today. Far,far too tricky for me.

  3. Cornick said

    I download the Graun most Thursdays through Saturdays and, for me, it’s never as hard as this Bannsider.

  4. dtw42 said

    Just like Bracoman, I solved a mere 6. Then ran 1/27 through a word finder to cheat-solve that. The resulting letters didn’t help much with the rest so I gave up. I always find Bannsider difficult and my heart sank when I saw the name this morning. This one was too hard for me.

Comments are closed.

