i Cryptic Crossword 1189 Glow-Worm

December 1, 2014

All I need to do today is quote NealH from Fifteensquared:

“A Christmas list themed puzzle that had some well-constructed clues, but a little too much obscure stuff (e.g. abolla, ibo) for my liking. There were a couple I didn’t follow (5 down and 24 across).”

COD? Not many that really impressed me, TBH, so I’ll settle for 30d – ‘Wood dust (3)’.

Here’s the blog from 2008:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2008/12/01/4243/

One Response to “i Cryptic Crossword 1189 Glow-Worm”

  1. Cornick said

    I thought there was plenty to love in this, including IBO from biodiversity, which was good for me, and my COD 10ac, SEGUE, even if the football team mentioned is a bit dodgy!
    HOWEVER, I always thought, if you have an arcane word like ABOLLA, you’re not supposed to clue it with another little known word like boll which in turn has a tenuous definition like ‘swelling’! My LOI after a wordsearch!

Comments are closed.

