i Cryptic Crossword 1174 Anax

November 13, 2014

This was very good, my only gripe being that I wish I’d had more time to enjoy it. A long lazy weekend as opposed to a Thursday lunchtime, say. 🙂

COD? 5d – ‘Stories about major fraud haunt royal distiller (6,9)’.

Here’s the 2009 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/12/04/independent-7214-by-anax-saturday-prize-puzzle-28-november-2009/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1174 Anax”

  1. Cornick said

    For me, Anax is rapidly earning himself a place on the top table of cruciverbalists – this was great!

  2. dtw42 said

    Oh. I must’ve just had an off-day then. I struggled with this and didn’t finish it. Quite a lot of answers I’d never heard of. [sigh]

    • jonofwales said

      Much of this was very difficult, as always with Anax. A setter who’s worth persevering with though.

    • Cornick said

      Liberal Unionist, Liebig Condenser and Ossia were all new to me too, but for some reason I warm to Anax. Maybe it’s because of his generous comments on fifteensquared, or maybe it’s the great care and invention in his clues – I guess we all get our favourites!

Comments are closed.

