i Cryptic Crossword 1172 Virgilius

November 11, 2014

A fun, fairly taxing puzzle from Virgilius, with a theme of 1d/27.

COD? Lots to like, but I’m nominating 19ac – ‘Large snake – or its opposite, in a way (6)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/01/12/independent-7251virgilius/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1172 Virgilius”

  1. Roger Powell said

    Ladder – great clue – reminded me that I must have done this puzzle in the Indie a few years ago. Despite this, I still found it quite tricky, partly due to carelessly entering won instead of one for 3 down,

  2. Cornick said

    My COD too!
    This is very picky, but isn’t 1d a cryptic definition and 9ac a double definition? I wouldn’t mention it but I’ve come across these terms being used the other way round a few times recently on fifteensquared, so I’m beginning to doubt myself!

    • jonofwales said

      You’ll have to remind me of the clues, 24 hours feels like a long time ago now. 🙂

      • Cornick said

        1d Agitator put in to provoke more heat? = POKER, apparently DD, I’d say CD.
        5ac Honour found among theives? = KNAVE, apparently CD, again I demur.

      • jonofwales said

        1d I think is a CD, as ‘put in to provoke more heat’ on its own may be a description of what a poker does, but isn’t a proper definition.
        9ac I think this is a CD. ‘Honour’ on its own is a little tenuous as a definition, especially if you hadn’t twigged the theme.

  3. Cornick said

    Okay. I thought that honour stood quite comfortably on its own as a definition for knave, and the ‘found among theives?’ was a cryptic second definition. Heigh-ho, not the end of the world!!

    • Cornick said

      Actually I can see now that it would have needed an extra word before ‘found’, so you’re right! 🙂

Comments are closed.

