i Cryptic Crossword 1158 by Phi

November 1, 2014

Saturday 25th October 2014

Having conducted a near-forensic analysis of Phi’s compiling habits in recent weeks (esp. my blog for crossword 1128) it was quite satisfying last Saturday to see a Nina AND a theme AND that the theme was classical music!

So, with the grid pattern suggesting said Nina, I went straight for the edges to left and right. Three G’s in the SE corner and one S opposite was enough to speculatively fill in all those G’s & S’s. The rest was then pretty straightforward, especially with the benefit of having been weaned on G & S operettas long ago.

One new word ‘olearia’ is apparently the daisy bush native to Phi’s home, New Zealand.

COD? 5ac: Edition initially hailed in studies of Titian subjects (8)

2009 blog here: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/12/11/independent-7725phi/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1158 by Phi”

  1. Justin said

    I too really enjoyed this. Phi is just pitched at my level. Although I didn’t spot the Gs and Ss until I’d finished! And in response to a query on this blog ages ago, I do send this in most weeks in the hope of winning the radio. By now I could have bought it just in the cost of second class stamps…

  2. Cornick said

    Nice to read your comments!

Comments are closed.

