i Cryptic Crossword 1163 Scorpion

October 31, 2014

I’ve reached a similar point to beermagnet back in 2009, where “After I had about 10 answers I came to a complete halt, totally stuck.” I probably won’t, though, have time for several goes at this today, so here’s the Fifteensquared blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/11/27/independent-7208-by-scorpion-sat-21-nov-2009/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1163 Scorpion”

  1. Brakewynde said

    I loved this! A few clarifications that didn’t appear in the original blog:

    12ac: THEW doesn’t mean cut so it’s HEW; MAT sounds like MATT when spoken (delivered)

    23dn: There’s a plant called a Wood Lily that “might” have a wood in the background

  2. Cornick said

    Very innovative from Scorpion. May I suggest 11ac for COD?
    One curiously starts to hide when it’s time to give any donations (8)

  3. jonofwales said

    Accompanying children on trick or treating walkabouts has put the kibosh on me ever getting back to this one. Gah.

  4. dtw42 said

    I got stuck about halfway through this too, and was all for abandoning it. Was annoyed with myself for how long it took me to un-anagram 10/22ac. Thankfully my GF helped and we eventually finished it, albeit with a few “don’t understand how”s.

Comments are closed.

