i Cryptic Crossword 1154 Radian

October 21, 2014

I’m afraid I’m in agreement with many of the solvers back in the day – too obscure by far for a weekday puzzle, and worse I gave up with several unsolved just because the process was getting so tedious. I did spot the theme for once while solving, but it was never going to help with some of the clues. 12ac and 15ac should never have got through the editing phase.

Here’s the 2009 blog, with answers and analysis:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2009/11/30/independent-7215-by-radian/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1154 Radian”

  1. Cornick said

    I was quite shocked to see Qixote laying in to his fellow setter like that in the fifteensquared comments. Whilst 15ac is not what we’re used to in Indy puzzles, they do that sort of thing all the time at the Graun, and the idea of ‘pistol’ having once been ‘ploits’ struck me as quite amusing! Pica pica is one of the only two or three birds for which I know the Latin name, so maybe I just got lucky there…This took me ages, just like last Friday’s Bannsider, but at least I finished it and I really enjoyed it too! As for the day of the week thing, I just wish they’d put the hardest one of the week as the Saturday prize puzzle – for the other days, doesn’t it vary from person to person?

    • jonofwales said

      I suspect the old Indie prize puzzles don’t end up on a Saturday because the competition is probably quite a nice money spinner for the i, with the best prize in crossword-land. Instead we seem to get them Thursday and Friday every week. 🙂

Comments are closed.

